Inspiration

How To Make the World A Happier Place #1

I’m back! Hopefully I’ll remain back for longer this time, but we’ll see. Sometimes life just gets in the way.

Something I live by in life is do what you can to make the world a happier place. This could be by becoming a teacher and helping children grow into happy and well-rounded adults, or by being an artist and brightening people’s lives by painting pretty pictures, or by becoming a doctor and helping people feel better. I think, if you know that you can make a difference, no matter how small it may be, you should do it.

One way you can help make the world a happier place is to… be grateful and thankful of others.

Now, I’m not the sort of person who needs to be thanked every time I do things, but there are certain situations when a ‘thank you’ goes a long way. One of the worst things is going out of your way to do something for someone who then fails to acknowledge or thank you.

For instance…the other day I was in Tesco’s and I saw a mother pushing her kid around in a pushchair. The kid had a little bunny cuddly toy that she was clinging on to. I carried on with my shopping, and down one aisle I saw that the bunny had been discarded and was laying on the floor, staring up at the yoghurts. I picked it up (trying to ignore how gross it felt) and walked around the shop hoping that the mother and child were still in the shop. They were! I walked up to the woman, who was deliberating if she wanted brown or white bread.
‘Your daughter dropped this!’ I said, smiling – wasn’t I such a lovely stranger to go out of my way to give it back?
‘Oh,’ she replied, taking the toy out of my outstretched hand and walking off. I then felt a bit miffed that my act of kindness only warranted an oh.

If she’d thanked me, saying oh thank god you found Flopsy – little Ella can’t sleep without him! I would have walked away feeling chuffed with myself that I’d done a good deed and helped someone out. As it happened, I wish I hadn’t even bothered.

So, this is what I mean – thank people when they do something for you, no matter how small. Someone waited and held the door open for you? Thank them!
Someone passed the bottle of water you couldn’t quite reach at the back of the fridge? Don’t just take it and walk away – thank them!

If everyone showed more appreciation for small acts of kindness, we’d all be more inclined to be nicer all the time and the world would be a little bit happier!

 

Leave a Reply

