simple things

Simple but Still As Tasty

I wanted to share with you today two simple recipes for tasty treats that are my absolute go-to when I want to bake something quick and easy. I’m not a very adventurous baker, so the majority of things I make end up being quite simple, but I think they still taste good!

LEMON CUPCAKES

DSC03984

I’ve finally learnt over the past few years the fool-proof recipe for cupcakes and I no longer need to turn to a cookbook to find out the amounts I need of everything. This has come in handy when friends or family have sprung a surprise visit on us; whip up a quick batch of cupcakes and you have something yummy to greet them with when they arrive.

You Will Need:
6 z of self raising flour
6oz caster sugar
6oz margarine
3 eggs
Zest of 1 lemon

This will make 12 average sized cupcakes.

Method:

I’m a fairly lazy baker, so I follow the ‘all in one’ method, which is basically:
bung all the ingredients into a big bowl and mix them together until the mixture is smooth (lumpy cupcakes are never good).

Spoon them into the cupcake cases (side note – I always find it gross when people use their fingers to scrape the mixture off the spoon. Just use another spoon! Is that just me who thinks that? Probably!) being careful not to fill the cases too close to the top – if you do this they will more than likely spill over and create a cupcakey mess.

Cook them at 160 degrees fan (so, 180 for regular ovens) for about 15 minutes. You can always put them back in for longer if they’re not cooked, but you definitely don’t want burnt cupcakes!

Take them out and wait until they are completely cool before you ice them (I’m always so impatient when I’m waiting for them to cool. Icing is the best bit!)

For The Icing You Will Need:
4oz margarine
30ml lemon juice
17oz icing sugar (sounds like a lot, but just go with it!)


Method:
Put the margarine, lemon juice and half the icing sugar in a bowl and mix them together. I prefer using an electric mix because, as I said earlier, I’m a lazy baker.
Gradually add the rest of the icing sugar and keep mixing until it’s the right consistency to pipe.
Add pretty sprinkles or little sweets (I personally love the sprinkles you can buy at Tesco’s, or if I don’t have any of them I’ll use Smarties)

So there you go- simple cupcakes that everyone will love! On to the next…

RAISIN FLAPJACK

DSC03987

This is a recipe I was given at Secondary School and is possibly the only thing I learnt at school that I still use (I mean, who’s really using algebra and distillation columns in their everyday life?)

You Will Need:
12oz porridge oats
3 tablespoons of golden syrup
6oz demerara sugar
12oz margarine
A scattering of raisins
A big bar of chocolate (if you want to melt it on the top)

Method:

Melt the margarine, sugar, and syrup in a saucepan at a low heat. Keep on stirring until the sugar is dissolved. (I love this part because I love the smell of melting margarine. I’ve never met anyone else who does, so please let me know if you do!)
Remove the pan from the heat.
Add the oats and raisins and stir them all together.
If the mixture looks a bit wet and gooey, add some more oats. There was one time I didn’t do this, and when I removed it from the oven it was just a big gooey mess. Not good.
When the mixture looks right, pour it into a greased tin and flatten it. I use a Swiss roll tin which is about 7×11 inches because this gives a nice thickness to the slices, but you can always experiment with which sized tin you like. You could even spererate the mixture into cupcake cases to save you from having to cut it up!
Bake at 180 degrees fan (so around 200 degrees normal oven) for 15 minutes, until golden brown.
While it’s in the oven, break your chocolate up into chunks.
Straight away after you’ve removed the flapjack from the oven, place the chocolate chunks all over. There’s no right or wrong way of doing this, but make sure you put it on while it’s still really hot so it will melt all over it. You might need to help it along by squishing the chunks flat with a knife and then spreading the chocolate all over.
Wait until it’s really cold before you cut it up, otherwise it’ll crumble all over the place!


Baking doesn’t have to be complicated – simple is sometimes the best! As long as you have fun and you make something tasty, it’s all good! I hope you now feel inspired to put on an apron and start baking!  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

