Smiles on Sunday

Country Music, Interior Design, and Renewing My Faith in Humanity

This week has been quite weird, because I’ve still been a bit out of it. The antibiotics I’m on are making me feel way better, but also a little bit wobbly! I’ve still managed to enjoy a few smiles though!

MUSIC

I’ve been needing a pick-me-up this week, and I’ve found myself turning to Maddie and Tae, a country music duo from America. Up until the last few years, I’ve never really been into country music, but something just clicked and I absolutely love it. Maddie and Tae’s music is so uplifting (and I mean that in the actual sense, not the sense some films use to describe a film where the small child dies of cancer and it’s mean to be uplifting because it inspires you to live life to the full. I find it’s never uplifting if I’m sitting there bawling my eyes out), catchy, and some of the songs are really humorous, which I absolutely love in a song – any musician that can make you laugh, want to sing along, but also think is a genius in my eyes!

TV

I’ve found myself watching quite a lot of TV this week, but I’ve managed to narrow it down to two favourites:

The Great Interior Design Challenge
I discovered this on iPlayer when I was ill and delusional, and found it such an easy watch because it’s so gentle and full of pretty colours and patterns. It’s kinda like the Great British Bake Off, but instead of baking they’re redesigning someone’s living room/bedroom/kitchen, and instead of Paul and Mary there are two interior designers, and instead of Mel and Sue it’s a guy called Tom Dyckhoff (I know!) So, okay, it’s kinda nothing like the Great British Bake Off, but you catch my drift.
The contestants only have three days and £1,000 to redesign a room, following the home owners’ brief, and it’s incredible what they do with that time and money (although sometimes that’s ‘incredible’ in a bad way…). I’d like to say I’ve learnt a lot about interior design, and I’m feeling inspired to give the house a face-lift, but I’d be lying. I’m still as clueless as ever about what looks good.

Friends
Growing up, I caught the last few seasons of Friends the first time round, and since then I’ve been a massive fan of the show. I don’t think it will ever age, and it’s just so comforting and happy. If I ever have kids, I will make them watch it and love it (when they’re the right age, obviously) because I want to pass on my love for Friends, and hopefully it will improve their lives like it’s improved mine. It’s the sort of programme that’s just always there (literally – it is always on on Comedy Central at the moment) and no matter what mood you’re in, you become immersed in their world and for 20 minutes you feel like the sixth friend.

FILM

I am not a fan of history at all. I love going to National Trust houses, but I have absolutely no interest in the history behind anything. I get sad when people talk about the war, and thinking about how society and the world used to be so different makes me feel so weird inside. I do, however, love Horrible Histories. I read a few of the books when I was younger, but the TV programmes are genius. I was so excited when they brought out their film Bill but annoyingly my local cinema didn’t show it. I bought the DVD last week and watched with Alex and my parents, and we all loved it! It’s such a fantastic comedic story about Shakespeare, and it made me laugh so so much (unfortunately it made me laugh so much I couldn’t stop coughing for a good while, but let’s ignore that). I really look forward to watching it again when I can appreciate it even more, but I definitely recommend it to anyone who likes Horrible Histories, history, comedy, and just brilliantly written stories.

RANDOM

This week, I’ve really been cheered up by the kindness of others. I will eventually stop going on about being ill, I’m sure it’s getting annoying, but I genuinely have never been so ill, and it’s been pretty much all that’s happened to me in the last few weeks. My family have been so lovely to me, especially my mother, and I just really appreciate their love and support and putting up with my constant whining.

One person in particular this past week that made me smile was one of my piano students. I had to cancel her piano lesson due to illness (sorry, last time, I promise!) and I saw her for the first time in two weeks on Friday. I opened the door and she handed over a mini eggs Easter Egg and said ‘we were going to give you flowers as a Feel Better Soon present, but we thought that might make you sneeze, and we remembered you like mini eggs, so here you go!’ I just wasn’t expecting it, and it really made me smile; I love it when people renew my faith in society. It emphasizes my point in my blog the other day – little things people do can mean the most. A £1 Easter Egg is nothing, but it really cheered me up and let me know that they’d thought about me outside of the piano lesson and felt sorry for my…state of health… (aha, I didn’t say it!) and wanted to do something to make me feel better. Just, ahh, people can be so nice!


So, this week has been full of a few little smiles – here’s hoping next week will be full of more!

What’s made you smile this week?

Leave a Reply

