Three Simple Things

The Power of People

People. They can pretty much make you or break you. A simple word or a little look can make your whole day, or can summon those grey clouds to hover over your head.

I had a pretty lousy day yesterday, and I was trying desperately to find three little things that made me smile, but I just couldn’t. Things that I thought would cheer me up just made me feel a bit eh and I didn’t feel it was worth talking about them.

Then, I received a message from Alex telling me he’d downloaded the latest episode of Fresh Meat for us to watch at the weekend. Suddenly, my mood was lifted, and I had something to look forward to, and I felt really loved. We watched the first three series’ while he was at uni, and it was such a cosy time just sitting on his bed, eating pizza, and drooling over Jack Whitehall. Thinking about those times makes me happy, and Alex knows that. We both agreed we wouldn’t watch the new series when it was on; we’d watch it together at the weekends. I’d kinda forgotten about it until he sent that message, and it put such a smile on my face. Someone who loves me had done something that he knew would make me happy, and that’s just such a fantastic feeling.

This sparked a thought about how sometimes the little things people do for you can mean so much. Alex didn’t have to put much effort into downloading the programme, but just knowing that he thought she’ll like that, so I’ll do it makes me so happy.

This happened the other day too; my mum bought me a beautiful mandala colouring book as a feel better soon present. She hadn’t gone out purposefully to get me a gift; she just saw it while she was out and it reminded her of me, and she wanted to buy it because she thought it would cheer me up. It’s such a wonderful feeling knowing that people are thinking of you and want to do little things to make you happy.

My third person who made me smile is someone I don’t even really know. Jess at chocolatedropswordpresscom.wordpress.com sent me a comment the other day because I hadn’t written a new post in a while, and she wanted to let me know she was missing my updates. I haven’t have this blog for long at all, and it made my day knowing that someone enjoyed my blog and that my absence had been noticed by someone. So, thank you, Jess, for your little but lovely comment; it put a big smile on my face!


I’ve never been one to rely on other people to boost my own happiness, but I do always appreciate how the little things other people do for me can have such an impact on my mood. Just little things like sending someone a picture you saw and thought they’d like, or giving someone your last mini egg, lets them know that you were thinking of them and that you want to put a smile on their face. I’m going to try and be the reason for someone’s smile today, by doing something little but meaningful. I encourage you to do the same too; the world would be a much better place if we all aimed to make someone smile everyday!

 

 

Leave a Reply

