Inspiration

Little Pick Me Ups When You’re Feeling Ill

So, I wasn’t expecting to not update for nearly two weeks and end up looking like a blogger who had all the best intentions and then lost all interest. I’m still here, and I still have lots of ideas! I’ve just had the worst flu and sinusitis I have ever had. Obviously I’m not going to go into gross details, but I was pretty much bed-ridden from 12th February to 22nd February. I managed to drag myself out of bed for Valentines Day (mainly because I wanted to see the necklace I’d ordered with Alex that I’d been really excited for) but that was quite an effort (but I now have an adorable necklace!)

All of my plans for half term, a week free from teaching, completely went out of the window, which was annoying, but I’ll just fit them in another time!

While feeling absolutely awful,  I kept trying to find little ways to try and cheer myself up, and I thought I’d share them with you. There seems to be a heck of a lot of germs flying around at the moment, so if I can help anyone out in feeling chirpier then it makes being ill worth it. Kinda. Eh, you get what I mean!

Binge watch your favourite TV programmes

Over the last 10 days I have watched all existing episodes of Death in Paradise, half of the entire box set of Jonathan Creek I don’t know why being ill makes me want to watch people being murdered! so, so many episodes of The Simpsons, a few seasons of The Middle, and enough episodes of Friends to make me feel like the 7th friend. Or like Gunther, just watching them and wishing so bad that I was a part of it.

TV programmes that you’ve watched 100 times before are fantastic for when you’re ill, because you can have a 20 minute snooze, wake up, and know exactly what’s happening!

Surround yourself with pillows

I find that when I’m ill I want to be as comfy as possible. My head felt as though it was going to burst, and my whole body was so achy and painful, so I ended up wrapping myself up in an attempt to hide myself away from the world. 4 pillows, a duvet, and a fluffy cover was a perfect little nest. A lovely nest of germs.

Cuddly toys are your best friend

In a time when no one really wants to be around you because you look gross, you sound gross, and all your conversations consist of Eughhhhhhhhhh I feel so illllllllll, it’s sometimes nice to be kept company by an inanimate object who can’t run away from you. If I had a cat, I would have made him sit with me and complained away to him all day. But sadly, I am catless. I do, however, have a Pusheen cuddly toy, who was subjected to constant hugs and whinges. This may have made me look like a small child, but I didn’t really care; when you’re ill, you do anything to try and cheer yourself up.

There is no such thing as ‘too much ice cream’

On the day when I could barely swallow, but was ridiculously thirsty, I had around 6 bowls of ice cream, and 4 fruit lollies. I’m not normally one to overindulge on ice cream, I really don’t like anything too cold, but I just didn’t want to stop eating it because for those few minutes it was such a relief and thirst quencher. I have never loved ice cream more than I did that day.

Fairy lights make everything seem better

Night time when you are ill is pretty much the worst time ever. When it got to around 8pm each day I dreaded the next 12 hours. I don’t know what it is, but it feels as though everything becomes 100x worse. That annoying headache you had during the day is suddenly now a brain tumour and you’re convinced you need to wake everyone up in a panic because you don’t know what will happen if you don’t. Of course you know, deep down, you’re fine, but there’s just something about being in your dark bedroom at night, unable to sleep, that makes you feel uneasy and unsettled. One night, I left my little fairy lights and my fox lamp on, and it made night time a lot easier to deal with. I also left the TV on, just quietly in the background, so that there was background noise and I didn’t have to listen to my own thoughts of WHY CAN’T I SLEEP I WANT TO BE ASLEEP AND FEEL BETTER WHY AM I NOT ASLEEP OH MY GOD I AM NEVER GOING TO SLEEP AGAIN IN MY LIFE I CAN’T REMEMBER THE LAST TIME I COULD SLEEP WHAT IS SLEEP I DON’T EVEN KNOW. That night was the first night in over a week that I actually slept. It wasn’t a good sleep, but every time I woke up, it was to a dimly light room and it just somehow made things feel better.

Make yourself feel pretty

Now, this is all dependent on how ill you truly feel. I’m not a person who ever has bare nails, but for a week I couldn’t muster painting them, and it made me feel rubbish. Every time I looked down at my hands and saw the scratched off, ugly nails, I just felt sad. One day, I had about an hour of feeling more with it, and I was able to paint my nails with fast drying nail varnish. It was a shockingly poor paint job, but it didn’t matter; when I looked down at my hands there was a nice colour looking back up at me. Another thing I found helped, was brushing my hair and putting a tiny bit of lip balm on, so that when I dragged myself to the bathroom and saw my reflection in the mirror I didn’t shudder at what was looking back at me. I’m not a vain person in the slightest, but just looking at myself looking vaguely presentable tricked my mind into thinking I must be getting better. Look at me, I brushed my hair and put lip balm on! Road to recovery, here we come!

Don’t get bogged down into just thinking how rubbish you feel

I had a little breakdown one night. I got so upset and stressed that I wasn’t going to be able to do anything I’d planned and that I was going to fall behind on everything, I just sat crying and feeling so miserable. Crying when you have the flu is pretty much the worst thing you can do, because for a good while I couldn’t breathe properly and I was just sitting and coughing and feeling so sorry for myself. I realised I really wasn’t helping myself, so I started thinking of all the things I was going to do when I felt more like myself again. My head then became full of little snippets of ideas for blog posts, worksheets, games,ideas for our choir, and places I want to visit with Alex, and I was excited to at some point write them down. I’m still not at the point where I can start acting upon my ideas, it’s taken me quite a while just to write this blog, but I’m glad I have some sort of idea of things I want to do when I feel better.


 

I hope some of these ideas will help you if you feel ill. Obviously the main thing is to rest and treat the symptoms however they need to be treated, but there are always little things you can do to perk yourself up for a few minutes.

3 thoughts on “Little Pick Me Ups When You’re Feeling Ill

Leave a Reply

