Three Simple Things

A Simple Relationship is a Happy One

I believe the most important thing in a happy relationship is the ability to value the simple things. The happiest couples are not the ones who post every single second of their relationship on social media. No, the happiest ones are the ones who just focus on each other. The ones who wake each other up with a cup of their favourite tea in the morning, made just how they like it. The ones who surprise each other with little gifts throughout the year – I saw this dinosaur pen and had to get it for you because you told me you used to love dinosaurs when you were a kid. The ones for who the little things mean the most.

I lead quite a simple life; I don’t need lavish gifts to make me happy, and my boyfriend, Alex, is the same. We would much rather have a day at home watching The Simpsons and eating pizza, than go out for a meal at a really fancy and expensive restaurant. We’re a couple who love the simple things in life.

DSC01970.JPG
Simple things in life, like watching meerkats dig…

Since starting this blog, I’ve begun to notice the little things Alex does that really make me smile. Obviously, there are quite a few, but for continuity on my blog, I’ll just stick to three.

  1. The way he always sings or hums to himself. Sometimes, I don’t even think he knows he’s doing it. We’ll be walking round town and he’ll be bored because he’s had enough of shopping, and he’ll just start humming a little tune to himself. Or, we’ll be in his room and while tidying up he’ll be singing to himself picking the rubbish off the floor…this empty Jaffa Cake box makes me really want Jaffa Cakes…mm I really like Jaffa Cakes…Jaffa Jaffa Cakes… and I’ll just be sitting and grinning to myself.

    dsc01936_1.jpg

  2. The way he gets on so well with my mum. My mum means the world to me. There aren’t enough words to explain how much I love her and how appreciative of everything she’s done for me, and I always want to make sure she’s happy.
    From the start of our relationship, Alex has always made an effort with my mum, and I love it when I walk in the room and they’re laughing about a story Alex is telling about his day at work, or my mum is telling him something she’s discovered about our family history and Alex is really interested and is asking all the right questions. They just click, and I love that two people who I love more than anything in the world get on so well.

    img_20150809_172517.jpg

  3. The way he makes me laugh. Whether it’s his stupidly inaccurate impression of me where he puts on a really high-pitched and posh voice, or when he makes up little silly stories, or when he’s overly dramatic in his complaining about having to go shopping or tidy up, he makes me laugh all the time. To me, laughter is the best thing you can have in a relationship.

    dsc_0282.jpg

(I don’t really like that photo, but it was the only one I could find where we both looked like we were laughing – he hates having his photo taken, so it’s very rare I actually have a nice one of us!)
So, there we have it: my Valentines special of Three Simple Things, and how the little things can mean the most ❤
2 thoughts on “A Simple Relationship is a Happy One

Leave a Reply

